It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
PUBP 4803 Big Data and Public Policy: Cybersecurity
"The Institute for Information Infrastructure Protection (I3P) is a consortium of leading universities, national laboratories and nonprofit institutions dedicated to strengthening the cyber infrastructure of the United States." Site includes news, events, and publications.
"Although ISA is structured as a multi-sector trade association, it is actually a unique organization that combines the thought leadership that might be found in a “think tank,” with advocacy one would expect from a trade association, and operational security programs that might be found in a professional association. ISA was founded in 2000 in collaboration with Carnegie Mellon University. ISA membership is open to public and privately held entities and currently has substantial participation from the aviation, banking, ommunications, defense, education, financial services, health care, insurance, manufacturing, security and technology industries."
"Through the combination of research and education, NSCI supports public and private clients aiming to increase Cyberspace awareness, interest, knowledge, and/or capabilities." Site includes whitepapers and the CyberPro newsletter.
"The goal of NICE is to establish an operational, sustainable and continually improving cybersecurity education program for the nation to use sound cyber practices that will enhance the nation’s security. The National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) is leading the NICE initiative, including more than 20 federal departments and agencies, to ensure coordination, cooperation, focus, public engagement, technology transfer and sustainability."
HSDL provides a collection of homeland security policy and strategy related documents to homeland security officials, researchers, educators and students in an effort to further advance national research and policy development. It is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Office of Grants and Training and the Naval Postgraduate School's Center for Homeland Defense and Security.
The majority of the information comes from entities under the following organizations: Department of Homeland Security (DHS), Department of Defense (DOD), Department of Justice (DOJ), Department of State (DOS), Congress, and the White House.
Specific types of information include: Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports, Congressional Budget Office (CBO) reports Congressional hearings, reports, documents, resolutions and public laws, Government Accountability Office (GAO) reports, Inspector General reports [various organizations], Presidential directives, executive orders and reports, Office of Management and Budget (OMB) reports, theses and research reports from federal/defense schools, and major federal commissions.
Security automation reference data is currently housed within the NVD. The NVD is the U.S. Government repository of security automation data based on security automation specifications. This data provides a standards-based foundation for the automation of software asset, vulnerability, and security configuration management; security measurement; and compliance activities. This data supports security automation efforts based on the Security Content Automation Protocols (SCAP). The NVD includes databases of security configuration checklists for the NCP, listings of publicly known software flaws, product names, and impact metrics. A formal validation program tests the ability of vendor products to use some forms of security automation data based on a product's conformance in support of specific enterprise capabilities.
"Our mission is to connect America’s best and brightest to the cybersecurity industry... Thanks to our sponsors and partners, we are the industry’s pipeline connecting opportunity with talent." Site includes news, events, and info on cyber camps and competitions.
The Information Marketplace for Policy and Analysis of Cyber-risk & Trust (IMPACT) program supports global cyber risk research & development by coordinating, enhancing and developing real world data, analytics and information sharing capabilities, tools, models, and methodologies. In order to accelerate solutions around cyber risk issues and infrastructure security, IMPACT makes these data sharing components broadly available as national and international resources to support the three-way partnership among cyber security researchers, technology developers and policymakers in academia, industry and the government.
A primary goal is to bridge the gap between producers and consumers of cyber-risk-relevant data, tools and analytics to inform policy and analysis of cyber-risk and trust. IMPACT is supported by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security, Science & Technology Directorate, Cyber Security Division.