Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Please ask us for assistance!
Contact your Subject Librarian for expert quick and in-depth reference and search assistance (with GT courses, GT dissertation/theses/project research, etc.).
- Atlanta Journal and Atlanta Constitution. Indexing for gap in full text online:
- Atlanta journal, The Atlanta constitution index (Annual). Library has: 1982--2000. Library Service Center Reference. Call Number: AI21 .A832X
- The Atlanta Journal the Atlanta Constitution; Atlanta, Ga. Citation/Abstract coverage: Jan 1, 1989 - Jan 11, 2002, in US Newsstream Proquest
- The Atlanta Journal the Atlanta Constitution; Atlanta, Ga. Full text coverage: Sep 25, 1996 - Jan 11, 2002 to Current, in US Newsstream Proquest.
- The Atlanta Constitution: a Georgia index. Georgia State University. Library. Reference Dept. Library has: 1971—1979. Library Service Center Reference. Call Number: AI21 .A83X
- Library Catalog. Microfilm newspaper records and print indexes.
- Library Catalog records for Atlanta Journal or Atlanta Constitution, online and other records
Atlanta Historic Newspapers Archive (GALILEO)
Provides online access to fourteen newspaper titles published in Atlanta from 1847 to 1922. The archive provides historical images that are both full-text searchable and can be browsed by date.
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index (ProQuest).
Abstract & Index only, to books, periodicals, official documents, newspapers and archives
Digital Library of Georgia (GALILEO)
A virtual collection of digitized books, newspapers, images, manuscripts and media with an emphasis on material important to the history and culture of the state of Georgia.
Factiva®, a Dow Jones & Reuters Company
Factiva provides essential business news and information. Includes the exclusive combination of The Wall Street Journal, the Financial Times™, Dow Jones and Reuters newswires and the Associated Press, as well as Reuters Fundamentals, and D&B company profiles.
Georgia Historic Newspapers Archive (GALILEO)
The Georgia Historic Newspapers Archive is a project of the Digital Library of Georgia (DLG; https://dlg.usg.edu/ ), a part of Georgia’s Virtual Library GALILEO (http://www.library.gatech.edu/galileo/galConnect.php) and is based at the University of Georgia Libraries. The DLG has partnered to digitize historical newspapers from around the state. The archive includes over one million Georgia newspaper pages between 1786 and 1986.
Global Newsstream (1980 - current) enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full- text format. Includes: Canadian Newsstream; Global Breaking Newswires; International Newsstream information; US Newsstream (1980 - current)
InfoTrac Newsstand. Gale.
Major U.S. newspapers and leading world titles. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
Los Angeles Times
Coverage: 1985 – current. Part of US Newsstream (ProQuest)
News & Newspapers (ProQuest).
Offers international, national, regional, and local papers including The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Washington Post, The Guardian, El Norte, Jerusalem Post, and South China Morning Post.
Newspaper Source (EBSCO)
International newspaper coverage includes cover-to-cover full text for The Times (London), The Toronto Star, The Australian, and more.
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790
Provides full issues of these newspapers and magazines, just as they appear in print. Set up your account using your GT email address. Access on the app requires entering while on GT wifi
New York Times. In US Newsstream (ProQuest)
New York Times. Late Edition (East Coast) 1981 to Current. In US Newsstream (ProQuest).
U.S. Newsstream (ProQuest).
Covers back into the 1980s, featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. US Newsstream offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal.
Wall Street Journal Coverage: 1984 – current.
Wall Street Journal Online is part of both Factiva and US Newsstream (ProQuest)
U.S. Newsstream (ProQuest)
Go to the U.S. Newsstream (ProQuest) database!
US Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. For academic and public libraries, US Newsstream offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. US Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform.
Full Text Included. Email alerts can be set-up. Coverage: 1980 - current (depending upon the title). US Newsstream can also be searched as part of: (1) Global Newsstream and (2) ProQuest Central.
Quick ProQuest Search Hints
- Sort by Date (Most recent first) or Relevance
- Truncation character (*) asterisk - retrieves variations of the search term. Use the truncation character at the end (right-hand truncation, such as simulat*) or in the middle of search terms. Each truncated word can return up to 500 word variations.
- Wildcard character (?) used to replace any single character, either inside or at the right end of a word.
- Quotation marks ("signal processing") for exact phrases. Enclose stop words in brackets or quotation marks "near infrared"
- Use "Recent Searches" to combine previous search statements, using Boolean operators.
- Combine previous search statements. Examples: (1 AND 3) OR (1 AND 2)
3 AND detect* (1 OR 2) AND (3 OR model*)
- Use nested (with parenthesis) Boolean operators to combine terms
- OR -- To broaden a search; allow for variant spellings; results include any specified term
- simulat* OR model* OR mathemat* OR algorithm* [every record contains at least one of these four terms]
- AND -- To narrow the scope of a search; results contain all specified terms
- radar AND countermeasure* [both terms must be contained in every record]
- NOT -- To eliminate terms (or search statements) from a search
- Proximity operators:
- near/# (within # words, in any order)
- pre/# (within # words, in this exact order)
- Field qualifiers: limit to a specific field, such as author -- AU(Smith), or to multiple fields at one time, such as TI,SU,AB(robot* and wireless*) for restricting keywords to title, subject and abstract fields. Can limit to fields using Advanced Search drop down menus.
- "Anywhere except full text" (drop down menu) or use NOFT as a field code, such as NOFT(laser pre/3 diode). NOFT - does not search the full text field.
- Change "Display" -- "results per page" to 100
- Register (free) to Save search queries, records, or set up automatic Alerts. One search statement line is saved.
- Multiple ProQuest databases can be searched simultaneously. Top row "Change databases" ; check the boxes of relevant databases; "Use selected databases"
- Email, Print, Download marked records. Can download to EndNote, text, RTF, etc.
ProQuest Research Guides and Search Tips
Global Newsstream (ProQuest). Includes US Newsstream
Global Newsstream (ProQuest)
Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring content from newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. This product provides one of the largest collections of news from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. All titles are cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform allowing researchers easy access to multiple perspectives, resources, and languages on the topic they are researching.
Full Text Included
Coverage:1980 - current
Global Newsstream includes (1) Canadian Newsstream; (2) Global Breaking Newswires; (3) International Newsstream; and (4) US Newsstream
Other GT Databases and Guides