Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Sustainability: Built Systems

This guide provides a platform for sustainability resources related to natural and built systems, alternative energy, as well as on and off campus programs and organizations.

Book Gallery

"Its unique feature is the coverage of the detailed process of research rather than the findings of research projects. Chapter authors have been carefully selected by their expertise, discipline and location to give an eclectic range of perspectives. Particular care has been taken to balance positivist with interpretivist approaches throughout. The authors focus is on the practical consequences of research philosophies, strategies and techniques by using their own research and by evaluating the work of others."

"... presents novel methods for examining the long-term effects on individuals, society, and on the environment for a wide range of forthcoming transport scenarios, such as self-driving vehicles, workplace mobility plans, demand responsive transport analysis, mobility as a service, multi-source transport data provision, and door-to-door mobility. With the development and realization of new mobility options comes change in long-term travel behavior and transport policy."

"...emphasis is being laid upon utilisation of the surrounding energy from ground source and other renewable energy sources to stimulate alternative energy sources for heating and cooling of buildings. Exploitation of renewable energy sources and particularly ground heat in buildings can contribute towards reducing dependency on fossil fuels. Buildings where people work require more light and moreover, in the buildings where people live, the energy is used to maintain the lighting, temperature and proper ventilation."

"... A tree produces thousands of blossoms in order to create another tree, yet we do not consider its abundance wasteful but safe, beautiful, and highly effective; hence, "waste equals food" is the first principle the book sets forth. Products might be designed so that, after their useful life, they provide nourishment for something new-either as "biological nutrients" that safely re-enter the environment or as "technical nutrients" that circulate within closed-loop industrial cycles, without being "downcycled" into low-grade uses (as most "recyclables" now are)."

 

"... presents and discusses the major achievements in the scientific fields of sanitation and hygienic water use systems throughout the millennia, and compares the water technological developments in several civilizations. It provides valuable insights into ancient wastewater and stormwater management technologies with their apparent characteristics of durability, adaptability to the environment, and sustainability. These technologies are the underpinning of modern achievements in sanitary engineering and wastewater management practices."

"Megapolises are complex ecosystems, and their air and water quality, vegetation and soils are exposed to anthropogenic influences. The book discusses advanced approaches and techniques to monitor, model and assess environmental consequences and risks in megapolises and offers solutions to the environmental problems of modern megapolises. It also presents successful, sustainable urban-development projects from Europe and beyond, including the management and design of green infrastructure, waste management, run-off purification and remediation of urban soils.

"Individual chapters covers timely topics such as sustainable infrastructure, transportation, renewable energy, water and methods supporting an innovative and sustainable development of urban areas. Real-world examples are presented to highlight recent developments and advancements in design, construction and transportation infrastructures."

"The book presents a sustainability roadmap to bring together various concepts, that have been dealt with independently by previous authors, and link them to establish the fundamental practical steps. The flow path and the direction for successful implementation of a sustainability roadmap are also discussed in detail in the book. For the first time, the authors use sustainable communities to create a better quality of life for residents while minimizing the use of the resources to meet current needs and ensure adequate resources for future generations. "

"Gathering cutting-edge research and insights from academics, practitioners and policymakers around the globe, it identifies and discusses the nascent threats and challenges contemporary urban areas face, highlighting the drivers and ways of navigating these issues in an effective manner. Uniquely providing a blend of conceptual academic analysis with empirical insights, the book produces policy recommendations that boost urban sustainability and resilience."

"...this book reviews various energy technologies, as well as taking a critical look at the political, social and economic aspects. Throughout, the emphasis is on renewable energy sources (wind, wave, solar, biomass, etc), but a discussion of fossil fuels and nuclear power is also presented. This timely book, written by recognised experts, will be welcomed by those in the energy industries as well as by policy-makers, consultants and engineers."

"This book provides readers with a basic understanding of the concepts and methodologies of sustainable aviation.The book is divided into three sections : basic principles the airport side, and the aircraft side. In-depth chapters discuss the key elements of sustainable aviation and provide complete coverage of essential topics including airport, energy, and noise management along with novel technologies, standards and a review of the current literature on green airports, sustainable aircraft design, biodiversity management, and alternative fuels. "

 "This book takes a cross-disciplinary view of the various dimensions of the maritime transportation sustainability problem. "Cross-disciplinary" means that a variety of angles are used to examine the book topics, and these mainly include the technological angle, the economics angle, the logistics angle, and the environmental angle. The book reviews models that can be used to evaluate decisions, policy alternatives and trade-offs."
 

"In particular, scientific topics that are addressed in this volume include railway ballasted track degradation/settlement problems and stabilization/reinforcement technologies, switches and crossings and related derailments causes, train-induced vibrations and mitigation measures, operations, management and performance of ground transportation, and traffic congestion and safety procedures.."

"The content of this book is partially organized from a stakeholder perspective, revealing the managerial implications for public and private actors. Next to public policies, also illustrations come from the private sector... The reader can thus take advantage of the pragmatic viewpoints that aim to inspire policy makers, researchers, students, organisations and communities to boost the needed changes towards a Zero Waste Economy."

Sustainable Water and Wastewater Processing

Sustainable Water and Wastewater Processing covers the 12 most current topics in the field of sustainable water processing, with emphasis given to water as a resource (quality, supply, distribution, and aquifer recharge). Topics covered include emerging sustainable technologies for potable and wastewater treatment, water reuse and recycling, advanced membrane processes, desalination technologies, integrated and hybrid technologies, process modeling, advanced oxidative and catalytic processes, environmentally, economically and socially sustainable technology for water treatment, industrial water treatment, reuse and recovery of materials, and emerging nanotechnology and biotechnology for water processing. Responding to the goals of sustainability requires the maximum utilization of all water resources, water processing with restricted energy costs and reduced greenhouse gas production. Following these trends, this book covers all the important aspects of sustainable water processing and support.

Major Databases

Videos/Films

The Atlanta Beltline: From Vision to Reality

In June 2018, Ryan Gravel of Sixpitch - whose GT master’s thesis launched the BeltLine; Odetta MacLeish- White of TransFormation Alliance; and Michael Bryan, Georgia Tech student and TransFormation Alliance intern gave an engaging talk and conversation about the launch and evolution of the BeltLine and a call to action for students to engage with communities in advancing the BeltLine’s original vision of thriving, connected communities.