Find a Covid Vaccination Site - GA - from the GA Dept. of Public Health
CDC page - updated Monday, Wednesday, Friday
11/10/20 - Community Use of Cloth Masks... key findings: Multiple layers of cloth with higher thread counts have demonstrated superior performance compared to single layers of cloth with lower thread counts, in some cases filtering nearly 50% of fine particles less than 1 micron. Explained in lay terms on CNN.com, "CDC now says masks protect both the wearers and those around them from Covid-19".
9/18/20 - udpated "clarifications" re asymptomatic testing if have been in close contact with an infected person
AJC page - focus is Atlanta and statewide
Coronavirus COVID-19 Global Cases by Johns Hopkins CSSE -- visual dashboard of statistics worldwide
COVID-19 Projections - for the U.S. - updated daily by the Univ. of Washington's Health Metrics and Evaluation
Florida COVID-19 Response - select "see dashboard" - updated daily
U.S. State Dept. page - notes info. re students on foreign study programs
COVID-19 Outbreak Detection Tool - developed by researchers at Georgia Tech, Massachusetts General Hospital (MGH)/Harvard Medical School, and Boston Medical Center - predicts how fast an outbreak is spreading within a given county. Updated 2-3 times per week.
White House Taskforce Report - Georgia - 9 pages, dated 8/16/20; reported in the AJC 8/19/20 , page 1. The reports are issued weekly, but are not distributed directly to the public. The AJC and other local news outlets typically summarize it for GA. The PBS affiliate, WABE, often has the pdf on its website.
MIT Medical news on COVID-19 - has FAQ and updates. Plus, a mathematical explanation (with link to video of MIT Professor also explaining) antibody test’s sensitivity and specificity, combined with low population prevalence...
Harvard Medical School on "if you've been exposed to the coronavirus" - notes the saliva test; the nasal swab test -- and gives guidance on "What are the chances that a coronavirus test will tell me I am not infected when I actually am?
EPA list of about 200 disenfectants for use (option to export to pdf; default is displaying 25 products per page)
Universities and colleges
New York Times has graphic, frequently updated, with accompanying detailed university-by-university statistics. GT users - all now have access to NYT Digital - create account.
A New Front in America's Pandemic: College Towns -- New York Times, 9/6//20; updated online 9/10
Georgia Department of Public Health COVID-19 Daily Status Report - has totals by county. Also, has some demographic info. See its Dashboard page for extensive graphs, downloading charts, and enhanced capabilities for data visualization.
COVID Tracking Project - from The Atlantic magazine.
Coronavirus travel restrictions: where visitors must still quarantine - list of states, with details. From USAToday, revised often.
Where all 50 states stand on reopening - from CNN.com; revised often.
Face masks / face coverings / face shields
State of Georgia: 844-442-2681 -- call before seeing your Doctor
Fulton County - 404-613-8150 -- to get test results; speak to a nurse
Dekalb County - 404-294-3700, Select Option 1 [available Mon.-Fri., 8:30am - 5:00pm]
All of GA, Augusta Univ.'s COVID-19 Virtual Screening (website has option to download app) - available 24/7 - 706-721-1852
Testing locations -
For GT students, faculty, and staff - FREE. Though no appointment needed, go to : https://firstname.lastname@example.org/ to complete a short survey and get the barcode (do this for each time you're tested - if you take the survey on a desktop computer, take a photo with your phone of the barcode)
12/14/20 - Renewing the Public Health State of Emergency - until January 11th, 2021.
12/8/20 - Providing additional guidance for empowering a healthy Georgia in response to COVID-19. 53 pages.
11/13/20 - 2 Executive Orders. Providing additional guidance for empowering a healthy Georgia in response to COVID-19. Renewal of Public Health State of Emergency - until December 14th.
10/30/20 - Renewal of Public Health State of Emergency - until December 9th.
9/30/20 - Renewal of Public Health State of Emergency - until October 30th.
9/30 ; 10/15 ; 10/30 -- Executive Orders re Providing additional guidance for empowering a healthy Georgia in response to COVID-19.
8/31/20 - Renewal of Public Health State of Emergency -- until October 10th.
6/29/20 - 2 Executive Orders. One is 3 pages, and renews the Public Health State of Emergency until August 11th (was set to expire July 12th). The second order: Providing additional guidance for empowering a healthy Georgia in response to COVID-19 - also 40 pages.
6/11/20 - Providing additional guidance and empowering a healthy Georgia in response to COVID-19. 40 pages. It encourages the use of face coverings. Effective June 16-June 30 in general; some parts effective 6/11 (e.g., age restriction on sheltering in place).
4/30/20 - Renewing the public health State of Emergency issued on March 14 and renewed April 8 to assist with the state's response to COVID-19 -- details re extending "shelter-in-place" are in a News Release for 4/30 from the Governor.
4/23/20 - Providing guidance for reviving a healthy Georgia in response to COVID-19 - details what one can do in shelter-in-place, and includes requirements for restaurants, movie theatres, and gyms/fitness centers
4/20/20 - Providing flexibility for healthcare practices, moving certain businesses to minimum operations
4/8/20 - Renewing the Public Health State of Emergency to assist with the state’s response to COVID-19 - 2 pages -- State of Emergency extended to May 13th.
4/2/20 - Issuing a statewide shelter in place to stop the spread of COVID-19 - 9 pages (note: 22-page "more guidance" document is no longer available on Governor's website)
3/14/20 - Public Health State of Emergency until April 13th.
Georgia business and economic issues-
Georgia Dept. of Economic Development page detailing what businesses can open and requirements; what businesses open in next categories and phases.
Governor Kemp's memo re state budget cuts, May 1, 2020 (as reported in Online Athens)
Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers - 28 Safety Guidelines for reopening barber and cosmetology salons
GA - list of participating vaccine sites, from the Dept. of Public Health.
U.S. Covid Vaccine Supply: How to Make Sense of Those Confusing Numbers - New York Times online, 1/21/21 - notes the production capabilities of moderna & Pfizer (collectively, between 12-18 million doses per week).
FDA page for Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) - includes meeting dates, links to press releases.
GA Dept. of Public Health vaccine hotline: 888-357-0169 - COVID-19 vaccine page - includes dashboard of #s allocated, shipped
12/18-12/19 2020 Wall Street Journal - "Moderna Shot to Bolster Vaccine Efforts" [online version has slightly different title] -- notes how long each of the 2 vaccines can be kept thawed, shipping container sizes, and purchases - US government -- 200 million doses of Moderna's by June; 100 million doses of Pfizer's.
Research on messenger RNA; history of the approach - Sprint to vaccine paves way for future advances - Washington Post, 12/7/20[link is to free web version of 12/6, slightly different title]
11/30/20 - from Nature - How COVID vaccines are being divvied up around the world - ..."the makers of the three vaccines that seem closest to widespread distribution — AstraZeneca, Pfizer and Moderna — estimate a total production capacity of 5.3 billion doses for 2021, which could cover between 2.6 billion and 3.1 billion people, depending on whether AstraZeneca’s vaccine is administered in two doses or one and a half"
Interview with Moderna's associate director of production - Dec. 2020 - notes newly-built manufacturing facility in Norwood, Mass., and that co is ready to ship 20 million doses, and also can produce 100-125 million doses in the 1st quarter of 2021.
Emory Univ. is partnering with Kaiser Permanente Washington and National Institute of Allergy & Infectious Diseases (part of NIH) - Atlanta magazine feature for June 2020 issue. This is also in partnership with moderna Therapeutics. Update on 5/18 on CNN.com . Background in article, online 7/14/20, in New England Journal of Medicine, "An mRNA Vaccine against SARS-CoV-2 — Preliminary Report".
Another co. working on vaccine: Inovio ; and, per NYT article noted above, CanSino in China.
Per the NYT article, moderna and Inovio's approach - " technologies involving modified or otherwise manipulated genetic material"
World Health Organization maintains a list of major vaccine candidates.
Wall Street Journal frequently updates an article: "Covid-19 Vaccines: What’s Coming and When?" - 11/9 is latest. Note: print ed. of 91/20 - has graphic on p. A6 . For full-text of earlier articles, use U.S. Newsstream. [subscription database]
11/16/20 - moderna announced its vaccine is 94.5% effective - "...based on 95 cases, of which 90 cases of COVID-19 were observed in the placebo group...The 95 COVID-19 cases included 15 older adults (ages 65+) and 20 participants identifying as being from diverse communities"
11/9/20 - Pfizer announced its vaccine is more than 90% effective. Per CNN.com on 11/9, in several weeks co. will ask for FDA emergency use authorization (volunteers need to be monitored for 2 months after getting 2nd dose.).
U.S. Health and Human Services project - Operation Warp Speed - major grants, including:
$1.6B - to Novavax, a biotech co. based in Gaithersburg, MD - July 2020
Sen. Cassidy's website for the bills/proposals has links to texts of these proposals/bills -- "Graham-Cassidy", or "Cassidy-Graham", or "Graham-Cassidy-Heller-Johnson"
"Graham-Cassidy" bill, on Sen. Cassidy's website, mid-Sept. 2017 (140 pages)
"Graham-Cassidy" bill, rev. LYN17744, on Sen. Cassidy's website, Sept. 24 or Sept.25, 2017 (146 pages)
"Graham-Cassidy" bill, most recent, LYN 17752, on Sen. Cassidy's website, Sept. 25, 2017 (also 146 pages)
Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (P.L. 111-148)
Health and Human Services (HHS) website has: benefits info. in "plain language"
Key features (includes timeline of implementation)
Georgia impact -- How the Health Care Law is Making a Difference for the People of Georgia
Healthcare.gov - If you are currently uninsured, you can get insurance and info. here, from the U.S. government's "health insurance marketplace"
Sources listed below are standard medical reference sources :
GT subscription databases that include a wide range of periodical literature:
[offsite access is for GT faculty, staff, and students for academic use].
Non-GT users may use these onsite, in the Library. Note: GALILEO is a consortia in Georgia that allows access to some general databases for Georgia citizens - check with your local public library; some of these are available.
The National Cancer Institute (NCI) has a help line, staffed by its information specialists -- Mon.-Fri., 9:00am to 9:00pm [Eastern time]
or, email at: https://www.cancer.gov/contact/email-us