Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Derwent Innovations Index (patents ; Thomson Reuters)
1963 to present. Georgia Tech Library subscription database. Merges the value-added patent information from Derwent World Patents Index with the patent citation information from Derwent Patent Citation Index. Conduct powerful patent and citation searches of inventions in chemical, electrical, electronic, and mechanical engineering.
Search for Patents and Applications, Non-Patent Literature, and Licensable Technology. Visualize research results and identify innovation trends and market potentials. Powered by IEEE and IP.COM. GT subscription. Number of users: 10.
USPTO Patent Database
Full Page Images 1790 to present. Full text is searchable back to 1976. The USPTO Web Patent Database is now searchable in five year blocks back to 1976, and in one additional block covering the years 1790-1975. The full text of a patent is searchable from 1976 to present. However, the 1790-1975 block contains only patent numbers and current U.S. Classifications.
espacenet.com. European Patent Office
esp@cenet (http://ep.espacenet.com/). Other Intellectual Property Offices http://www.uspto.gov/patents/int_protect/index.jsp
Free sites for printing full image U.S. patents
Free sites for downloading/printing full image U.S. patents: (1) USPTO search http://patft.uspto.gov/ ; (2) pat2pdf.org http://www.pat2pdf.org/ ; (3) Patent Fetcher ; (4) espcenet, U.S. and selected worldwide patents http://worldwide.espacenet.com/, (5) WIPO PatentScope http://www.wipo.int/pctdb/en/; (6) Google search http://www.google.com/advanced_patent_search
Published international patent applications from WIPO
Patent Classification Guides
United States Patent & Trademark Office. Patent classification systems
Issues trying to access databases?
E-Resource Access & OpenAthens @ GeorgiaTech (accessing Georgia Tech e-resources, both on and off-campus): http://libguides.gatech.edu/accessing_eresources/info_tips
While accessing e-resources off-campus, you may notice an OpenAthens login screen. The OpenAthens screen will ask you to identify your home. Use the "Login via your institution: Other Institution Login" (box, right column of screen) then "Find your organization" or "Find your institution" to search for Georgia or Georgia Tech or Georgia Institute (Georgia Institute of Technology or Georgia Tech); the OpenAthens list may not be alphabetical. See example. From there, use the Georgia Tech login service and you will be given access to the resource.
If you see a different screen, you may need to look for sign in or login links, usually at the top; you might be asked to select your Federation, which is OpenAthens Federation or Open Athens Federation.
Learn about the Library's OpenAthens Authentication service at OpenAthens Frequently Asked Questions or OpenAthens FAQ. See other examples (Open Athens Tips and FAQs, with three screen examples)
Begin at the Library home page, choosing Databases, e-Journals (electronic), or the Library Catalog. A list of all databases is at http://libguides.gatech.edu/az.php (top row "Find, Borrow, Request" - "Find Materials" "Databases" then search by database name in the search box, or search the database name alphabetically or by subject). For one-on-one quick and in-depth database search assistance: contact Bette Finn at email@example.com.
If you have e-journal, e-book, or database access questions or problems, please contact firstname.lastname@example.org.