Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
GTRI Technical Research Reports
Technical Reports Databases
NTIS (National Technical Information Service)
1964 - Citations and abstracts from unclassified government-sponsored research reports from the Departments of Defense, Department of Energy, NASA, EPA, and other federal agencies, and international government departments and other international organizations including those from Canada, Japan, the former Soviet Union, Western and Eastern European countries. Can combine with other ProQuest databases. For full text microfiche and electronic technical reports, see this LibGuide's Full-Text tab at https://libguides.gatech.edu/techreports/full-text . NTIS; GT users only. The Georgia Tech library holds over 2,500,000 technical reports (microfiche collection 2nd floor east). Selected full text reports are available through agency internet sites (DoD, DOE, NASA/NACA, EPA, ERIC) https://libguides.gatech.edu/techreports/full-text
Advanced Technologies and Aerospace Database
1962 - Provides bibliographic coverage of basic and applied research in aeronautics, astronautics, and space sciences. In addition to periodical literature, the database includes coverage of reports issued by NASA, other U.S. government agencies, international institutions, universities, and private firms. Can be combined with other ProQuest databases (NTIS, etc.)
U.S. Department of Energy database
Search 3+ million Department of Energy research information results. OSTI.GOV search functionality makes over 70 years of science, technology, and engineering research results from DOE and predecessor agencies discoverable. FAQ: https://www.osti.gov/faqs
NTRS: NASA Technical Report Server
1917- Provides access to NASA aerospace information and domestic and international STI (scientific and technical information) pertinent to NASA's missions. Contains the searchable CASITRS (RECONselect) and NACA Technical Reports databases and databases from selected space and aeronautics centers. Includes research reports, journal articles, conference and meeting papers, technical videos, operational documents, and preliminary data (with some full-text coverage).
The Department of Commerce National Technical Information Service (NTIS) is offering the American public free public access to a searchable online database of federal science and technology reports through their National Technical Reports Library (NTRL). Georgia Tech users should use the subscription NTIS (ProQuest) database to search for technical reports (http://libguides.gatech.edu/az.php?q=ntis%20national).
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)
1966- Also available as ProQuest, Ebscohost and FirstSearch subscription databases.
ProQuest's ERIC and Education Database (http://libguides.gatech.edu/az.php?q=educational%20images%20database%20proquest) can be searched together.
ERIC provides access to bibliographic records of journal articles, technical reports and other education-related materials. ERIC is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, Institute of Education Sciences (IES).
Transportation Research Information Service (TRID - the TRIS and ITRD Database Online)
1960s- (TRID - the TRIS and ITRD Database Online). Transportation Research Board. TRID contains more than 900,000 records of references to books, technical reports, conference proceedings, and journal articles in the field of transportation research. Almost 500 serial titles are regularly scanned and indexed for TRID. Selected records provide links to full text.
National Environmental Publications Internet Site (NEPIS)
1997- EPA's electronic documents site allows you to search, view and print, including full images of all original pages and full-text, from a collection of over 11,000 archival and current documents. Includes 400 Series (Air and Radiation, OAR), 500 Series (Solid Waste and Emergency Response, OSWER), 600 Series (Research and Development, ORB), 700 Series (Prevention, Pesticides and Toxic Substances, OPPTS) and 800 Series (Water, OW) and more.
Technical Report Archive & Image Library - TRAIL (selected reports)
Search selected U.S. government technical reports, issued primarily prior to 1975 and digitized by the TRAIL Working Groups.
WorldCat OCLC (library catalog records)
WorldCat indexes selected technical reports (worldwide library catalog records)
Monthly Catalog of US Government Publications,1895-1976
Comprehensive index to historical information published by the United States federal government between Jan 1895 and June 1976. Contains selected technical reports. http://monthlycatalog.chadwyck.com/home.do . GPO Monthly Catalog 1976 to current. http://www.galileo.usg.edu/express?link=zog1 . Catalog of U.S. Government Publications https://catalog.gpo.gov/F?RN=921435252
Government sources (free and subscription)
Government publication sites: govinfo: https://www.govinfo.gov/
MetLib GPO: http://metalib.gpo.gov
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications https://catalog.gpo.gov/F?RN=921435252
Issues trying to access databases?
E-Resource Access & OpenAthens @ GeorgiaTech (accessing Georgia Tech e-resources, both on and off-campus): http://libguides.gatech.edu/accessing_eresources/info_tips
While accessing e-resources off-campus, you may notice an OpenAthens login screen. The OpenAthens screen will ask you to identify your home. Use the "Login via your institution: Other Institution Login" (box, right column of screen) then "Find your organization" or "Find your institution" to search for Georgia or Georgia Tech or Georgia Institute (Georgia Institute of Technology or Georgia Tech); the OpenAthens list may not be alphabetical. See example. From there, use the Georgia Tech login service and you will be given access to the resource.
If you see a different screen, you may need to look for sign in or login links, usually at the top; you might be asked to select your Federation, which is OpenAthens Federation or Open Athens Federation.
Learn about the Library's OpenAthens Authentication service at OpenAthens Frequently Asked Questions or OpenAthens FAQ. See other examples (Open Athens Tips and FAQs, with three screen examples)
Begin at the Library home page, choosing Databases, e-Journals (electronic), or the Library Catalog. A list of all databases is at http://libguides.gatech.edu/az.php (top row "Find, Borrow, Request" - "Find Materials" "Databases" then search by database name in the search box, or search the database name alphabetically or by subject). For one-on-one quick and in-depth database search assistance: contact Bette Finn at firstname.lastname@example.org.
If you have e-journal, e-book, or database access questions or problems, please contact email@example.com.