It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Statistics and Data Sets in International Affairs: Starting Points
This subguide of the international affairs guide is for sources of data sets and statistics in international affairs topics.
SAGE Research Methods supports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process. See the LibGuide for in-depth information on using this robust resource.
SAGE Research Methods has the answer for each user, from a quick dictionary definition, a case study example from a researcher in the field, a downloadable teaching dataset, a full-text title from the Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences series, or a video tutorial showing research in action.
Formerly Safari Books. You may need to login to use this collection. Click the Sign In button, but do not enter a password. A collection of technical e-books and videos in computer science and information technology, including programming languages, operating systems, software applications, and much more from O'Reilly and Pearson Technology Associates. Also included are imprints from Cisco Press, Adobe Press and Sams. The Safari search engine lets users locate information by finding all occurences of the search terms. Searches provide relevancy-ranked results, hit-lists of book chapters containing the search terms, complete tables-of-contents and indexes for each book, color charts, graphs and other illustrative materials, and cut-and-paste code segments.
Also included are imprints from Cisco Press, Adobe Press and Sams. The Safari search engine lets users locate information by finding all occurences of the search terms. Searches provide relevancy-ranked results, hit-lists of book chapters containing the search terms, complete tables-of-contents and indexes for each book, color charts, graphs and other illustrative materials, and cut-and-paste code segments.
See the research guide. Explore a vast collection of US and international statistics in Data-Planet Statistical Datasets. With this dynamic tool, you can scan and search the contents of billions of datasets, compare and contrast variables of interest, and create customized views in tables, maps, rankings, and charts.
Views also include descriptive summaries of the datasets and data sources. Datasets cover a wide range of subjects – including business, finance, banking, economics, sociology, political science, demography, agriculture, education, international studies, criminal justice, housing and construction, labor and employment, energy resources and industries, and more. Sources include public, private/commercial, and nongovernmental organizations.
Subjects: Statistics and Data, Business, Finance, Economics, Sociology, Political Science, International Studies, Demography, Agriculture, Education, Criminal Justice, Housing and Construction, Labor and Employment, Energy Resources and Industries, Climate and Weather
Connects digital research to powerful new discovery tools, giving researchers the ability to quickly and easily identify and access the most relevant digital research. Data Citation Index provides: Digital research that is discoverable, citable and linked to primary research literature; Coverage of nearly 2 million records from quality repositories from around the world; Digital research records built from descriptive metadata to create bibliographic records and cited references for digital research; Recommendations to the scholarly community for promoting standard citation formats for digital research.
IMF eLibrary Data provides access to authoritative, harmonized global statistical data from the International Financial Statistics, Direction of Trade, Balance of Payments, Government Finance Statistics and Coordinated Portfolio Investment Statistics.
OECD iLibrary contains all the publications and datasets released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development), International Energy Agency (IEA), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF) since 1998 - currently. Access to publicly available content only.
Statistical Insight is the most comprehensive source of federal statistics. It provides detailed abstracts, indexing, and locator information for all statistical reports of general research value issued by the federal government since the early 1960's. It includes direct links to all key statistical data available on federal agency World Wide Web sites as well as direct links to hundreds of reports stored within the Universe service itself. Statistical Universe enables easy access to statistics produced by major international intergovernmental organizations, professional and trade organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, state government agencies, and universities. The database also provides access to American Statistics Index (ASI), Statistical Reference Index (SRI), and Index to International Statistics (IIS).
ProQuest Statistical Insight provides abstracting, indexing, and full text for publications from hundreds of public domain and licensed sources.
US Federal statistical publications. 5,000 titles/year. Coverage from 1973; full text from 2004. (Also known as American Statistics Index, or ASI)
State government and business statistical reports. 2,200 titles/year. Coverage from 1980; full text from 2007. (Also known as Statistics Reference Index, or SRI)
International statistical publications from the UN, OECD, EU, etc. 2,500 titles/year. Coverage from 1980. Full text from 2007. (Also known as Index to International Statistics, or IIS)
Hundreds of thousands of statistical tables selected from the three publication modules. Tables are individually indexed to ensure precise search and retrieval. Coverage from 1999.
ICPSR is the world's largest archive of computer readable social science data, containing more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields. Available data can be browsed by topic or searched. Note that ICPSR does not provide publications, reports, or ready-made statistics. What ICPSR does supply are the numeric raw data used to create publications, reports, and figures. The ICPSR Bibliography of Data-Related Literature is a continuously updated database of thousands of citations (not full text) of works using data held in the ICPSR archive. Users who desire to download members-only data and some publicly available data will need to establish an individual account with a GT email at a GT IP address (http://www.icpsr.umich.edu/cgi-bin/newacct)
Hospitality & Tourism Complete covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. Coverage includes periodicals, company and country reports, and books from domestic and international sources. Subject areas include culinary arts, demographics and statistics, development and investment, food and beverage management, hospitality law, hotel management and administrative practices, leisure and business travel, market trends, technology, and more.