Major business databases are listed in the boxes below; in loose priority order within category (click on "i" for info.).
The top 3 sources are Viewswire, IMF e-library, and Passport GMID. Other databases are listed in alphabetical order.
In alphabetical order:
Databases for co. profiles and co. financials are listed first, followed by periodical databases.
Also search for articles in newspapers and periodicals for overviews and statistics.
Listed here are key sources for statistics, company lists, and news.
Key databases; listed in alphabetical order.
For more sources, by broad subject, see the tab "Statistics" on this Guide. For even more resources by subject, see my Research Guide for Statistical Information.
Listed in alphabetical order.
fall 2017 -- ProQuest divided up its newspaper database -- Global Newsstream is new name for international coverage.
STAT-USA ceased on Sept. 30, 2010. The major international business sources from this database are available online and are listed below.
Country Commercial Guides (select "report type")
Market Research Library (select "report type")
USA Trade Online - numerous detailed statistics (ask at the Information Services Desk to be logged in; password required)
Background Notes (brief country overviews from the U.S. State Dept.)
Country Profiles: Country Studies (in-depth overviews from the Library of Congress)
World Factbook (brief country overviews from the CIA) "country comparisons" is useful feature
For more sources, see the comprehensive STAT-USA Guide (developed by the Documents Librarian at UCF, Rich Gause).
July 2020 - subscription change back to Business Source Complete (from Business Source Ultimate)
Feb. 2020 - digital versions of Bloomberg Businessweek; Forbes; Fortune - added to Flipster database
Sept. 2019 -- Nexis Uni - subscription restored [in July, state consortia cancelled it].
summer 2019 - BCC Research - NEW - marketing research reports Click "Member Login", then in pop-up box, "IP Authenticate"
SAGE Research Methods - NEW - books on research methods in the social sciences ; many cases (but it's not the business cases database)
Financial Times - NEW - daily business newspaper from the UK [create account using GT ID and email]
spring 2019 - video (streaming) - Films on Demand - 30,000 films and more than 70,000 segments ; Academic Video Online ; Swank - feature films in support of GT curricula ; Kanopy (mediated model; see "Video" tabbed page for info. on requesting)
as of July 2019 - Nexis Uni CANCELLED by state consortia, GALILEO; replaced by Westlaw Campus Research.
June 2019 - Mintel Academic - NEW - marketing research reports for consumer products. [update, Aug. - as it turns out, glitch with approval; resolved]
June 2019 - NEW - add-on module, Scarborough Local Insights -- to SimplyAnalytics [select "dataset"]
Feb. 2019 - Mergent Intellect - NEW - worldwide co. directory; plus some consumer and demographic data. Note: has DUNS # ; will replace D&B Million Dollar database
Oct. 2018 -- Business Source Complete upgraded to Business Source Ultimate [provided by state consortia, GALILEO]
Business Searching Interface of Business Source Complete is still available via GALILEO
Sept. 2018 -- PrivCo -- NEW - private company financials, deals and investors
summer 2018 -- Harvard Business Publishing collection - NEW - more than 500 books! full-text searchable. Note: on-campus use only.
summer 2018 - PolicyMap - NEW database. Easy-to-use online mapping with data on demographics, real estate, health, jobs and more.
summer 2018 - Statista -- NEW - statistics on a wide variety of subjects. Also includes reports and outlooks.
summer 2018 - New York Times Digital - Student edition [student access only - use GT email]
summer 2018 -- eCases -- case studies from Emerald Insight. Select "reprints and permissions" for options to reuse content.
fall 2017 -- US Newsstream -- new name of ProQuest Newsstand; also has link to subset: US Major Dailies
the international coverage is now in: Global Newsstream
summer 2017 -- PressReader - NEW - 2-year pilot -- popular periodicals and newspapers. Includes: Fast Company ; Inc. - plus major newspapers, U.S. and foreign - including the AJC -- just as they appear in print - with all graphics and ads. From endowment and grant funds
summer 2017 -- SimplyMap will have a refreshed interface; and, it is being renamed to: SimplyAnalytics
summer 2017 -- LexisNexis Academic will have a significantly new interface, and new name: Nexis Uni
summer 2016: IBISWorld - NEW - U.S. industry reports, covering 700+ industries and nearly 4,000 individual product segments.
SimplyMap - NEW - quickly create professional quality maps and reports using using thousands of demographic and
business variables. Also included in GT's subscription: EASI/Mediamark Research, Inc. ("MRI"). Note: 5 simultaneous users.
ICPSR - membership. Social science data - containing more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields. Note: ideal to establish individual account - need to use GT email address, at a GT IP address.
spring 2016: Business Insights: Global cancelled.
summer 2015: Business Collection -- replaces PROMT
summer 2014: Local Market Audience Analyst (formerly Lifestyles Market Analyst) cancelled, due to browser compatibility problems.
summer 2013: Data-Planet Statistical Datasets is new name of ProQuest Statistical Datasets (new vendor prompted the name change).
summer 2013: SciTech Connect - consolidates the contents of DOE Information Bridge and Energy Citations Database.
Sept. 2012 - Business & Company Resource Center ceased; replaced by Business Insights: Global.
summer 2012: Page One Economics is new name of Liber8, from the St. Louis Fed. Same info. (highlighting selected economic indicators); in a newsletter format.
fall 2013: ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States - formerly issued annually in print by the Census Bureau. That version ceased; ProQuest is compiling the data and has produced a database, which the state consortia, GALILEO added for its member institutions.
summer 2013: Scopus - citation database, includes 21,000 journal titles and 5.5 million conference papers.
summer 2013: Data-Planet Statistical Ready Reference - small subset of company's Statistical Datasets noted above.
Sept. 2012 - Gartner - IT forecasts and market analysis. Funded by OIT.
March 2012 - Passport GMID - premier database from Euromonitor for data and analysis on companies, countries, comsumers, and industries worldwide - 8 million statistics.
March 2012 - OECD iLibrary - statistics for the 34 member countries plus 6 more countries (BRIC ; South Africa; Indonesia), plus OECD Economic Surveys as well as books and publications.
March 2012 - SBRNet - Sports Business Research Network
Jan. 2012 - Social Explorer (for current and historical Census). Library has purchased one seat license. Please "sign out" after use.
Jan. 2012 - Conference Board - Business and Economics Portfolio - Essential core data for key economic indicators (plus archive)
Jan. 2012 - PROMT - classic source for business articles, with emphasis on marketing and technologies. From GALE.
Jan. 2012 - Business Insights: Global - all-in-one source for basic information. From GALE.
Fall semester - Bloomberg - previously only available at 2 places on campus. Now also available in the Library. For use by Tech students, faculty, and staff.
spring 2012: American Factfinder
fall 2011 : ABI/Inform Complete ; Hoover's ; Morningstar Investment Research Center.
ProQuest Statistical Insight (formerly LexisNexis Statistical Insight) includes summaries (abstracts) of statistical information from many international providers. We have, on microfiche, the full set of the books included in the "International Index to Statistics" - IIS. How to find this valuable information?
Within the database, use Advanced Search. In the search box, select "source/publisher", then "list", then "international organizations". Change the sort order to "date published". Note the full IIS number (including year). On the 2nd floor microfiche area, look for: HA154.I542. Staff will be happy to assist you.
Examples of publisher: International Telecommunication Union.
Note: Data-Planet Statistical Datasets is the new name (summer 2013) of ProQuest Statistical Datasets- it includes China Data Online (with more info. than on library's previous free subscription).