"While waging war is almost as old as humanity, peacekeeping is recent but expanding rapidly. Over the past few decades, dozens of operations have been launched - many of them still effective - and more are on the way. Their existence is crucial, yet the general public knows relatively little about them. The A to Z Multinational Peacekeeping is designed to help fill this gap. Based on the updated and revised edition of Historical Dictionary of Multinational Peacekeeping, it consists of an introduction, chronology, list of acronyms, bibliography, and dictionary. The dictionary includes several hundred entries on the peacekeeping bodies, organizations that established them, important persons involved, countries in which they are deployed, and main contributing countries."
"Developed specifically to dispel misconceptions and promote cooperation, Guide to IGOs, NGOs, and the Military gives readers the opportunity to develop a basic understanding of these leading players in peace and relief operations. For each type, the handbook presents its organizational philosophy and culture, internal structure, and working practices. The guide is compact and lightweight, with tabs and indexes that make it easy to find specific information. A very useful resource as well for media covering peace operations.'
"The "Historical Dictionary of Multinational Peackeeping" traces the development of multinational peacekeeping since the formation of the League of Nations, and reviews peacekeeping operations mandated by a wide range of international organizations and state coalitions. The work contains detailed entries on peacekeeping operations since 1920, prominent individuals, the international organizations that have mandated the operations, important events, and the terminology associated with the topic. The book provides an insightful introduction to the subject, an up-to-date chronology, a comprehensive acronym list, an extensive bibliography, and examples of peacekeeping-related documents. The volume will serve the needs of students, scholars, diplomats, and others with an interest in deciphering the world of multinational peacekeeping."