Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
LMC is an interdisciplinary major, so many databases could be useful for your research. The lists below are not exhaustive, but will give you links to databases on these topics:
- general databases that cover a wide range of subjects
- literature, media and communication
- history and sociology
- computing, science and technology
If you're researching other topics, contact your librarian for recommendations.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
JSTOR (Journal Storage Project) is an electronic archive of core scholarly journals, with an emphasis on the retrospective conversion of the entire backfiles of key journals. Over 246 academic journals cover the subject areas of African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population/Demography, Sociology, and Statistics. JSTOR coverage is defined by a 2 to 5 year "moving wall," which is the gap between the most recently published issue of a journal and the date the most recent issues are available in JSTOR. The Library subscribes to three JSTOR collections: Arts and Sciences I, Arts and Sciences II, and General Sciences.
Research Library (ProQuest)
This database provides one-stop access to more than 4,000 periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications and magazines covering over 150 academic disciplines.
Web of Science
The Web of Science provides web access to three ISI databases: Science Citation Index Expanded (1900 -), Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-), and Arts & Humanities Search (1975 -). Web of Science allows access to research literature through standard access points (author, title, subject) and to cited references (footnotes, bibliography) published with a scholarly paper. The cited reference search enables you to find articles that have cited a specific work by an author.
Literature, Media, & Communication
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
Project MUSE offers nearly 250 journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers. Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, mathematics and many others.
Essay & General Literature Index
Essay and General Literature Index focuses on humanities and social sciences literature. It cites essays and articles contained in collections of essays and other works published in the United States, Great Britain and Canada. Subjects covered include archaeology, architecture, art, classical studies, drama, economics, fiction, film, folklore, history, linguistics, music, poetry, political science, religion, and women's studies.
Literature Resource Center
Literature Resource Center provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of over 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers.
History and Sociology
America: History & Life
America: History & Life is an index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes 1,700 journals from 1964 to present and also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. The database indexes more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and working papers.
Provides in-depth analysis of the most complex and controversial current events and social, political, economic, and international issues. Each report includes an issue summary, historical perspective, a chronology, bibliography, and a pro-con feature. Coverage extends from 1991 to present.
Social Sciences Abstracts
The Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes 1,725 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals.
Computing, Science & Technology
ACM Digital Library
The ACM Digital Library provides access to citations and full-text content of journals, newsletters, articles and conference proceedings published by the Association for Computing Machinery.
Applied Science & Technology Abstracts
Applied Science & Technology Abstracts™ contains indexing and abstracts for nearly 800 core English-language, scientific and technical publications back to 1983. Search includes Applied Science & Business Periodicals Index Retrospective(1913-1983.)Content includes coverage of a wide variety of applied science specialties—acoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear and civil engineering, computers and informatics and much more.
Science and Technology Collection
Contains over 800 full-text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community including aeronautics, astrophysics, biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, marine sciences and materials science. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,700 publications.
Liaison to the School of Literature, Media and Communication