Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The following databases, all of which are available at the Georgia Tech Library, provide full-text access and/or abstracts to articles in several music journals. For a list of selected music journals that are freely available online, see the "Electronic Journals" tab.
Used by millions for research, teaching, and learning. With more than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources, JSTOR is one of the world's most trusted sources for academic content. Includes 83 music journals. Advanced searches can be limited to Music.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Compiled by the International RILM Center, RILM is the world's largest, continuously updated bibliography of music literature, providing broad international coverage including records in 140 languages.
Academic Search Complete
Provides full-text access to recent issues of numerous journals of relevance to music, including Computer Music Journal, Electronic Musician, Journal of New Music Research, Leonardo Music Journal, and others.
Directory of Open Access Journals - Music
"The aim of the Directory of Open Access Journals is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased usage and impact. " Forty-nine English-language music journals are included as of December 2012.
IEEE Xplore provides full-text access to Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers and Institution of Electrical Engineers transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 and all current IEEE standards.
LexisNexis Academic contains over 5,600 publications, virtually all of which are available in full text. Many types of publications are included: Newspapers (in English and many other languages), legal news, general interest publications, some of which relate to music.
Project Muse - Music Titles
Project Muse includes full-text access to recent issues of several music journals, including American Music, Early Music, Journal of the Royal Musical Association, and more.
This database is a premium resource for those who need access to comprehensive coverage of computer topics. The database includes numerous titles, most of them in full text, allowing users to search records dating back to the early 1990's.