Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The first selection on this list provides a link to a comprehensive list of freely available online music and dance journals, provided by the Music and Dance Bibliography site at Brigham Young University. The second selection links to a list of all the full-text electronic journals available to the Georgia Tech community. Following these first two entries is a series of links to online journals of particular relevance to topics in music technology.
From the Brigham Young University Music and Dance site, a listing of more than 240 free online music journals, with links to the publications. To view this list, go to the URL. In the "Simple Search" mode select "Electronic Journal" from the CATEGORY drop-down menu.
Electronic Journals at Georgia Tech
A comprehensive list of electronic journal titles available to the GT community, browsable by title. Georgia Tech provides full-text access to recent issues of about 200 journals of relevance to music.
21st-Century Music - A Journal of New Music
Edited by Mark Alburger, this journal contains pertinent contributions in analysis, composition, criticism, interdisciplinary studies, musicology, and performance practice; as well as reviews of books, concerts, music, recordings, and videos.
Computer Music Journal
Concentrates on skills, technologies, and promises of digital sound and musical applications of computers. Available from 1997 to the present (current year is not available).
The ARSC Journal is a semi-annual, peer-reviewed publication that serves to
document the history of recorded sound and includes original articles on
many aspects of research and preservation issues.
Echo: A Music-Centered Journal
An interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed journal created and edited by graduate students in the Department of Musicology at the University of California, Los Angeles.
Electronic Musicological Review
"The Electronic Musicological Review is a yearly peer-reviewed scholarly journal. Its main goal is to foster research in the fields of Brazilian music, music technology and critical (or "new") musicology. EMR is hosted by the arts department of the Federal University of Paraná."
GAMUT: Journal of the Music Theory Society of the Mid-Atlantic
"Gamut is the peer-reviewed online journal of the Music Theory Society of the Mid-Atlantic. Like Music Theory Online, the online journal for the Society for Music Theory, Gamut is intended to be 'a journal of criticism, commentary, research, and scholarship.'"
International Computer Music Conference Proceedings
"The International Computer Music Conference (ICMC) is the preeminent annual international gathering for computer music composers and researchers. The ICMC interweaves peer-reviewed paper presentations with concerts of new computer music, creating a vital synthesis of science, technology, and the art of music. Each ICMC produces a Concert Program and Proceedings. The Proceedings is the collection of peer-reviewed papers and studio reports presented at each ICMC." Available 1997-present.
Journal of Interdisciplinary Music Studies
"The Journal of Interdisciplinary Music Studies (JIMS) is an international peer-reviewed journal. Published twice per year, it aims to establish a broad interdisciplinary platform for music researchers. JIMS especially promotes collaborations between sciences and humanities and between theory and practice." 2007-present
Journal of New Music Research
This journal "emphasizes an interdisciplinary foundation for music by means of the most advanced technologies. Covers musicology, psychology, information sciences, philosophy and brain sciences." Available 1997-present (current year not available)
Journal of Seventeenth-Century Music
" The Journal of Seventeenth-Century Music (JSCM) is published by the Society for Seventeenth-Century Music to provide a refereed forum for scholarly studies of the musical cultures of the seventeenth century. These include historical and archival studies, performance practice, music theory, aesthetics, dance and theater. JSCM also publishes critical reviews and summary listings of recently published books, scores, recordings, and electronic media."
Full-text coverage of this University of California - Berkeley publication, available from ProQuest from Spring 2002 to the present.
Music Theory Online
The online journal of the Society for Music Theory. February 1993-present
NIME Conference Proceedings
The conference proceedings for the International Conference on New Interfaces for Musical Expression, available through the ACM Portal.
"Organised Sound is an international peer-reviewed journal which focuses on the rapidly developing methods and issues arising from the use of technology in music today. It concentrates upon the impact which the application of technology is having upon music in a variety of genres, including multimedia, performance art, sound sculpture and music ranging from popular idioms to experimental electroacoustic composition." 1996-present
Perspectives of New Music
"Perspectives of New Music is directed to a readership consisting of composers, performers, scholars, and all others interested in any kind of contemporary music." Available from Proquest, 1989-present (current year not available)
Tacet: Experimental Music Review
"TACET is a new research publication dedicated to experimental music. Published annually and bilingually (French and English), its ambition is to create an interdisciplinary and international space of reflection for this music, in all its aesthetic diversity."