Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Guides to Grammar
Common Errors in English Usage
Explains a variety of errors in English. The list of errors is searchable and browseable, with the explanations brief and clearly written.
"Conjugation is the regular arrangement of the forms of the verb in the various voices." English only, currently. Enter a verb and see its forms.
Elements of Style
Classic work on style in the English language, including principles of plain language, rules of composition, and the most commonly-violated rules of writing. By Wiliam Strunk Jr. and may be known as Strunk's.
Includes a glossary of grammar terms, exercises, handouts, presentations, and tips and rules.
"Quick and dirty tips for better writing." Includes podcasts.
Grammar, Punctuation, and Capitalization: A Handbook for Technical Writers and Editors
"Writing problems are addressed which are often encountered in technical documents and preferences are indicated ... when authorities do not agree. It is directed toward professional writers, editors, and proofreaders."
Guide to Grammar and Writing
Choose help on a word and sentence level, a paragraph level, an essay and research paper level, or quizzes and searches, peripherals and powerpoints, or polls or guestbook.
"YourDictionary.com maintains the most comprehensive and authoritative language portal on the web with more than 2,500 dictionaries and grammars in over 300 languages, dictionary, glossary and reference articles, games that build language skills, and a forum for discussing language issues with the logophile community."
Guides to Writing Well in Science and Technology
Guideline for all stages of lab work, including writing the lab report.
Technical Report Writing
NASA memorandum on how to write a technical report.
Writing Guidelines for Engineering and Science Students
"These guidelines for engineering writing and scientific writing are designed to help students communicate their technical work. To that end, these guidelines contain advice, models, and exercises for common writing and speaking assignments in engineering and science."
Writing in Engineering: Writing Guides
From Colorado State University, guides to communicating as an engineer and guides to writing technical reports, lab reports, engineering project proposals, and environmental policy statements.
Writing in the Sciences
Another set of writing guides from Colorado State University. The guides include Writing the Scientific Paper; Abstracts; Review Paper for the Biological Sciences; Environmental Policy Statements; Poster Sessions; Email; Curriculum Vitae; and Citation Guide: Council of Science Editors.
Guides to Writing Well - General
Business Writing: Writing Guides
Includes an introduction; business letters; formatting business letters; writing business memos, writing business email; electronic mail; business press releases; executive summaries; and resume writing.
Online Writing Resources
Includes links in the categories grammar and mechanics, writing resources, dictionaries, thesauruses, foreign language dictionaries, citation formats, English as a Second Language resources, and composition and rhetoric resources.
OWL (Online Writing Lab) at Purdue
Great guide that includes information on the writing process, academic writing, grammar and mechanics, research and citation, internet literacy, writing in specific academic disciplines, and more
Scholarly Writing; Writing Guides
Includes guides on writing abstracts; case studies; content analysis; curriculum vitae; ethnography, observational research, and narrative inquiry; experimental methods and design; generalizibility and transferability; reliability and validity; statistics; survey research; and working with human subjects.
Write Place Catalog
Handouts on the following topics: business writing, citing sources, development, grammar, jargon and symbols, logical fallacies, online sources, organization and cohesion, process of writing, punctuation, research papers, resumes and cover letters, sentence structure, style, and types of writing.
Writing and Presenting Your Thesis or Dissertation
"Instead of examining such aspects as identifying appropriate sample size, field testing the instrument and selecting appropriate statistical tests, this guide looks at many of the quasi-political aspects of the process. Such topics as how to select a supportive committee, making a compelling presentation of your research outcomes and strategies for actually getting the paper written are discussed."
Writing Resources (George Mason)
Includes sections on writing preparation and process, parts of the essay, writing in your major, research, documenting sources, grammar resources, grad student resources, and more.
Writing Resources (Princeton)
Information on academic integrity and plagiarism, finding a topic and writing the paper, grammar nuts and bolts, and recommended manuals and guides.
Yahoo! Style Guide
Companion site to the book of the same name. This style guide is focused on writing for the web. Not all of the book is reproduced on the site, but a lot of tips are available on these topics: writing for the web, editing 101, word list, resources, ask an editor, and about the book.
Blogs about Academic Writing