Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Georgia Tech Library subscription databases
Print Standards at Georgia Tech
Selected print standards held by the Georgia Tech Library are listed below. For other print standards search the GT Catalog.
- American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code (paper version; not current) TJ290.A514 1995. Catalog record.
- Section II, Materials is available electronically through the Library's Knovel subscription. Catalog record.
- Current standards/code can be purchased from ASME
- American Society for Testing and Materials. Online (GT subscription). For older annual (inactive) print ASTM Book of Standards, search the GT Catalog
- Electrical Codes
- Society of Automotive Engineers. SAE Handbook (paper, up to 2005). TL151.S62. Contains many SAE J standards.
- American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-conditioning Engineers. ASHRAE handbook (guide and list of standards). TH7011 .A4. Latest edition kept in Library Service Center. Selected electronic handbooks available in Knovel subscription (Library Catalog)
AASHTO provisional standards
. American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials. Print, 2004-2014
. TE200 .A6152. Online via ASTM - selected AASHTO standards.
Selected other resources
Compendex indexes selected standards
Engineering Village's combined Compendex and Inspec databases selectively index ASTM, SAE, IEEE, ASCE, and other standards. Engineering Village searches can be limited to the "Standard" Document type. Access limited to GT users.
ASSIST Quick Search U.S. Department of Defense. Defense Standardization Program Office
Quick Search is a public website that lets users search for defense and federal specifications and standards, military handbooks, commercial item descriptions, data item descriptions, MS detail drawings, Qualified Product Lists (QPLs), and related technical documents prepared in accordance with the policies and procedures of the Defense Standardization Program (DSP).
Code of Federal Regulations
The Code of Federal Regulations is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the Executive Department and agencies of the Federal Government. Federal register: microfilm AE2.106:. Tutorial http://www.archives.gov/federal-register/cfr/
DOE. Department of Energy Technical Standards Program
DOE documents used for technical purposes. Links to approved standards and to the Search System (documents within the Nuclear Safety Technical Standards Collection).
Federal Information Processing Standards (FIPS)
The National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) http://www.nist.gov/ develops Federal Information Processing Standards (FIPS) for computer systems when there are compelling Federal government requirements such as for security and interoperability and there are no acceptable industry standards or solutions. Many are available full-text online.
National Institute of Standards & Technology (NIST)
Formerly NBS. U.S. Dept of Commerce. Contains indexing to and/or fulltext of some Federal Information Processing Standards (FIPS http://www.nist.gov/itl/fips.cfm), and Standard Reference Data (http://www.nist.gov/srd) material.
NIST is a non-regulatory federal agency within the U.S. Department of Commerce. NIST's mission is to promote U.S. innovation and industrial competitiveness by advancing measurement science, standards, and technology in ways that enhance economic security and improve our quality of life. Founded as the National Bureau of Standards in 1901, it was renamed Bureau of Standards in 1903. In 1934, the word "national" was affixed again to its name. It became the National Institute of Standards and Technology, or NIST, in 1988.