Skip to main content

Sustainability: Introduction

This guide provides a platform for sustainability resources related to natural and built systems, alternative energy, as well as on and off campus programs and organizations.

Databases

These databases focus exclusively on sustainability. The complete database list is here.

Journals Available from the GT Library

Search Many Sources at Once (Everything)

Search for a broad range of print and online books, journal articles, reviews, and other materials available to GT students, faculty and staff from the GT Library collections; the Emory Library materials housed in the Library Service Center; and from a mega-aggregation of hundreds of millions of scholarly e-resources harvested from publishers and aggregators, and from open-access repositories.

Select Find Databases to locate other more specific databases by name or subject.
Not all resources are included, so you may need to search a specific database to complete your research.

(Note: Some of the resources indexed in the Everything search are items that are not available directly from the GT Library. These materials can be requested through Interlibrary Loan using the links provided.)

Teaching Sustainability

"This SpringerBrief focuses on the principles of ecotourism such as relevance of the field, origin, fundamental aspects, definitions, philosophy, implications in biodiversity conservation and environmental impacts. Special emphasis is also given to the interaction between ecotourism and education and it is supported by recent publications from the authors."  

 "The aims of this book are: (i) to provide teaching staff at universities active and/or interested in teaching sustainable development themes with an opportunity to document and disseminate their works ... (ii) to promote information, ideas and experiences acquired in the execution of teaching courses ... (iii) to introduce methodological approaches and projects ..."

"Responding to the pressing need of business schools to incorporate sustainability thinking into their curricula, this new book offers fresh thinking on how to achieve this in practical terms. Structured on a typical MBA programme, each chapter explores how sustainability thinking can be integrated into existing subject areas."

"provides guidance to anyone interested in implementing change--on scales ranging from a single course to an entire program--by infusing sustainability across the curriculum, broadening access to Earth and environmental sciences, and assessing the impacts.."


"This book explores the strong links between sustainability and the humanities, which go beyond the inclusion of social sciences in discussions on sustainability, and offers a holistic discussion on the intellectual and moral aspects of sustainable development."

"This work presents and discusses the latest approaches and strategies for implementing Sustainability and Green IT into higher education and business environment,"

"...it demonstrates the role of campuses as platforms for transformative social learning and research, and explores the means by which university campuses can be made more sustainable."

Definitions & History

"... it introduces methodological approaches and projects which aim to offer a better understanding of sustainability across society and economic sectors. This multidisciplinary overview presents the work of researchers from across the spectrum of the social sciences. It stimulates innovative thinking on how social sciences influence sustainable development and vice-versa."

"Locating the underpinnings of the movement as far back as the 1660s, Caradonna considers the origins ofsustainability across many fields throughout Europe and North America. Taking us from the emergence of thoughts guiding sustainable yield forestry in the late 17th and 18th centuries, through the challenges of the Industrial Revolution, the birth of the environmental movement, and the emergence of aconcrete effort to promote a balanced approach to development in the latter half of the 20th century, he shows that while sustainability draws upon ideas of social justice, ecological economics, and environmental conservation..."

"Although the emphasis is on science and technology rather than policy, the Encyclopedia of Sustainability Science and Technology is also a comprehensive and authoritative resource for policy makers who want to understand the scope of research and development and how these bottom-up innovations map on to the sustainability challenge."

Videos/Films

Earth Day. Georgia Tech Library Research Guide

The Georgia Tech Library's Earth Day Research Guide combines practical tips with links to scholarly information on topics such sustainability, recycling , climate/weather, energy/fuel, environment, health, wastes, water, wildlife, and more.