Skip to Main Content

Sustainability: UN SDGs

This guide provides a platform for sustainability resources related to natural and built systems, alternative energy, as well as on and off campus programs and organizations.

Books

Sustainable Cities and Communities

Encyclopedia of the UN Sustainable Development Goals. "This volume addresses SDG 11, namely 'Make cities and human settlements inclusive, safe, resilient and sustainable' and contains the description of a range of terms, which allows a better understanding and fosters knowledge. This book presents a set of papers on the state of the art of knowledge and practices about the numerous challenges for cities, solutions and opportunities for the future."

Gender Equality

Encyclopedia of the UN Sustainable Development Goals. "This volume addresses SDG 5, namely "Achieve gender equality and empower all women and girls" ... This SDG is considered by many as a pivotal goal since the significant role of women in achieving sustainable development has always been acknowledged in several official UN declarations. Yet gender disparity is still rampant under various guises in various countries. Women’s rights need to be strongly safeguarded through legislation to ensure equal opportunities."

Life on Land

Encyclopedia of the UN Sustainable Development Goals. "This volume addresses SDG 15, namely 'Protect, restore and promote sustainable use of terrestrial ecosystems, sustainably manage forests, combat desertification, and halt and reverse land degradation and halt biodiversity loss' and contains the description of a range of terms, which allow a better understanding and foster knowledge."

Affordable and Clean Energy

Encyclopedia of the UN Sustainable Development Goals. "This volume addresses SDG 7, namely 'Ensure access to affordable, reliable, sustainable and modern energy for all' and contains the description of a range of terms, which allow a better understanding and foster knowledge .... This book presents a set of papers on the state-of-the-art of knowledge and practices about energy sustainable, in terms of generation and demand energy, considering aspects of innovation, management, sources of energy, performance, society behavior, and infrastructure, among others."

United Nations 17 Global Goals

United Nations Global Goals (17 Sustainable Development Goals) https://sdgs.un.org/goals

 

 

Other Resources