Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Technical Reports: Databases

Research Guide for Technical Reports

Technical Reports - Database Search Assistance

Subject Librarians provide GT students and faculty/staff with expert quick and in-depth reference and search assistance.

For individual technical reports, Georgia Tech students and faculty/staff can request copies of technical reports by filling out an ILLiad request form. Please indicate in the ILLiad "Notes" field that this is a technical report, and mention where it was cited (in a NTIS database record, etc.).

Technical Reports Databases

GT subscription. 1964 - Citations and abstracts from unclassified government-sponsored research reports from the Departments of Defense, Department of Energy, NASA, EPA, and other federal agencies, and international government departments and other international organizations including those from Canada, Japan, the former Soviet Union, Western and Eastern European countries. Can combine with other ProQuest databases. For full text microfiche and electronic technical reports, see this LibGuide's Full-Text tab at https://libguides.gatech.edu/techreports/full-text. NTIS; GT users only. The Georgia Tech library holds over 2,500,000 technical reports (microfiche collection 2nd floor east). Selected full text reports are available through agency internet sites (DoD, DOE, NASA/NACA, EPA, ERIC) https://libguides.gatech.edu/techreports/full-text

GT subscription. Selected reports. 1962 - Provides bibliographic coverage of basic and applied research in aeronautics, astronautics, and space sciences. In addition to periodical literature, the database includes coverage of reports issued by NASA, other U.S. government agencies, international institutions, universities, and private firms. Can be combined with other ProQuest databases (NTIS, etc.)

Search box - top of screen "Search this site, DoD S&T Reports, and more." The DoD Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) Public Technical Reports database provides access to citations of unclassified, unlimited documents, as well as the electronic full-text of selected documents. The Georgia Tech Library offers mediated searches of the DTIC online access controlled databases; searches are limited to qualified Georgia Tech researchers with the proper security clearances; for further information contact Bette Finn at bette.finn@library.gatech.edu

Search 3+ million Department of Energy research information results. Selected reports. OSTI.GOV search functionality makes over 70 years of science, technology, and engineering research results from DOE and predecessor agencies discoverable. Can refine by Technical Report and Full Text. FAQ: https://www.osti.gov/faqs

1917- Provides access to NASA aerospace information and domestic and international STI (scientific and technical information) pertinent to NASA's missions. Contains the searchable CASITRS (RECONselect) and NACA Technical Reports databases and databases from selected space and aeronautics centers. Includes research reports, journal articles, conference and meeting papers, technical videos, operational documents, and preliminary data (with some full-text coverage).

National Technical Reports Library (NTRL). The Department of Commerce National Technical Information Service (NTIS) is offering the American public free public access to a searchable online database of federal science and technology reports through their National Technical Reports Library (NTRL). Georgia Tech users should use the subscription NTIS (ProQuest) database to search for technical reports, using NTRL for full text.

1966- Also available as ProQuest, Ebscohost and FirstSearch subscription databases.
ProQuest's subscription ERIC and Education Database can be searched together. ERIC provides access to bibliographic records of journal articles, technical reports and other education-related materials. ERIC is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, Institute of Education Sciences (IES).

1960s- (TRID - the TRIS and ITRD Database Online). Transportation Research Board. TRID contains more than 900,000 records of references to books, technical reports, conference proceedings, and journal articles in the field of transportation research. Almost 500 serial titles are regularly scanned and indexed for TRID. Selected records provide links to full text. TRID combines the records from TRB's Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD's Joint Transport Research Centre's International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database.

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) publications. Selected reports

Search selected U.S. government technical reports digitized by the TRAIL Working Groups; primarily older reports. The Technical Report Archive & Image Library (TRAIL) is an initiative led by the University of Arizona in collaboration with CRL and other interested agencies to identify, digitize, archive, and provide access to federal technical reports.